Yoga for headaches

So I noticed yesterday that my body has this natural tendency to curl in on itself and tense up. Thus causing me debilitating headaches. I’ve had migraines since I was 8 years old. And I’ve been going to a chiropractor since then, and I’ve been to multiple doctors about it and been referred to numerous neurologists. Those idiots did CT, MRIs and other strange scans of my head and when that all came back normal, I was basically told “I don’t know, you’re SOL.” Yeah, 5 different Neurologists all did the same thing. Finally I’ve been referred to a neurologist who specializes in headaches. She’s trying all kinds of things. She actually has ideas and thoughts on what’s the underlying issue. It’s a relief after 34 years to finally find that.

So aside from things she’s referring me to try, I’m also doing things on my own. I started acupuncture, I changed my diet to gluten free, I’ve started taking supplements that are supposed to help and I began Yoga this morning. I found about 13 yoga poses for headache sufferers. I felt a ton better after I did them this morning. Then I went and worked in the yard for 3 hours and that was exhausting but good, so after I showered, I got on the floor and did the yoga poses again.

Yoga for Headaches – HuffPost

Yoga for Headaches – PopSugar

If you’re a headache sufferer, whether tension or migraine, try those articles. They help. And I’ve always been anti-yoga because I have no balance, or grace…i’m clumsy and fall over when I try to do some of it, but these are all sitting/laying poses. No grace required.

Definitely going to be doing this at least every morning and every night before bed.

I gotta say, I’m an old fashioned kinda person in a lot of ways…and in a quest to solve these headaches, I am finding myself becoming more and more “new agey”. I started acupuncture, I went gluten free and now I’m doing yoga…lol I think it’s pretty funny.

Well, here is something about me that will never change. I love Pearl Jam, I worship at their alter, I bow before them…and I’m gonna go and relax and listen to my boys!
 photo IMG_20170504_215653_740.jpg

Leave a Reply

